MRCP PART 1 Question Banks Improve your learning

Stethoscope on white background

MRCP Examination – A Brief Insight

MRCP PART 1 Question Banks Improve your learning

Membership of the Royal Colleges of Physicians (MRCP) examination dates back to the 1860s. For over a century now it has been a mandatory examination for postgraduate medical diploma students in the UK. Here is a brief insight into the MRCP examination. is offering wide range of Q banks covering all topics.

MRCP examinations are run by the Federation of the Medical Royal Colleges. This federation is comprised of three colleges: the Royal College of Physicians of London, the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Glasgow, and the Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh. However, the Royal College of Physicians of Ireland hosts a separate MRCPI qualification.

MRCP examinations are hosted across the UK as well as internationally. The Federation of the Medical Royal Colleges collaborates with foreign organizations to set up temporary testing centers all over the world including in Africa and the Middle East. However, examinations hosted outside the UK are considerably more expensive than those hosted within the UK. Countries where MRCP examination centers have been set up in the past include Singapore, Hong Kong, Dubai, Qatar, and Egypt, among others.

MRCP examinations are especially popular in Singapore as they are often taken in combination with MMed. They are also popular in Hong Kong where they are held in conjunction with MHKCP intermediate examinations.

MRCP Examination has evolved over the years, and much of its content touches on professionalism and communication skills. It is composed of three parts: MRCP part 1, MRCP part 2, and MRCP part 2 clinical examination (PACES).

MRCP part 1 and part 2 are written papers that are comprised of multiple-choice questions that are designed in the best format from a choice of five formats. MRCP part 2 clinical examination (PACES), on the other hand, is a carousel that is comprised of five stations that conduct different tests:

• Station 1 tests the learner’s ability to examine the abdomen and respiratory system.
• Station 2 tests the learner’s ability to record history.
• Station 3 tests the learner’s ability to perform a neurological examination and examine the cardiovascular system.
• Station 4 examines the learner’s medical ethics and communication skills.
• Station 5 requires the learner to take a focused examination and history, come up with a differential diagnosis and management plan, and then communicate the plan to a patient.


The main objective of MRCP examinations is to assess the competence, skills, and knowledge of physicians across the UK. Consequently, these examinations are also used to assure the public, as well as employers, of the medical sector’s well-being. In particular, the public’s confidence in the physicians is assured. Additionally, employers are assured of their employees’ professionalism; besides, MRCP examinations are positive for the physician’s credential and employment opportunities.

MRCP examinations are also designed to resemble North American examinations. Most physicians in North America advance their knowledge and skills by sitting for specialist examinations after acquiring their certification in Internal Medicine. MRCP examinations seek to do the same as they are for postgraduate candidates. Consequently, this qualifies UK physicians to operate both in the UK and North America as well as across the world.

Contact us on for more information.

Content Source:-



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s